Bougainvillea Alexandra standard

Bougainvillea 'Alexandra' standard

Perfect In Pots
Protect From Frost
90cm tall - Item: 680097
RRP £29.99
Deal Price £19.99
Save: £10.00 - 33%
Club Price: £17.99 - Save: £2.00   Join Today!
Description
Star Rating
What Is Supplied
Plant Info

A real taste of hot lazy Summers, Bougainvillea grow freely in hot countries around the Mediterranean with their rich colours smothering walls and balconies in the hot sun, but they also make great summer plants right here too!

The lovely magenta pink variety 'Alexandra' is one of the more compact and floriferous varieties, and performs well at lower temperatures in winter too. The colour comes, infact, from bracts, not flowers themselves, a little like Christmas poinsettias. The bracts turn brightest magenta pink in summer whereas the flower itself is quite insignificant - a small creamy flower, which looks like the eye of the bracts.

These plants have been expertly trained into a standard form, and can easily be maintained this way outside. Although climbers, they are slower growing in the UK. Grow in large pots in full sun, and then in winter provide protection below 2C. They can lose their bracts suddenly due to stress, so do not be alarmed if they drop - new ones will quickly re-appear in warm weather.

A real tropical addition to the Summer garden!

+ + = Excellent + = Good - = Poor - - = Bad
Score Customer Comments
+ Service rating : Badly packaged
Product : Rather battered by being squashed in a box with the planters on top
YouGarden Comments
I am sorry to hear that your order was received in poor condition. I shall pass this feedback over to our courier service. Are you able to send us some images of the Bougainvillea please? We can then action accordingly.

Katy Rogers
Customer Service Assistant
+ Service rating : always very polite, and efficient
Product : both items are very good, rather dry on receipt but recovered well.
+ Service rating : The Bougainvillea was of very good condition such that I am more than pleased.
Product : I do not know what excellent is in a plant , but I have a very good bougainvillea-
Would love your Callistemon kings park standard in my garden
+ Service rating : Good service and they keep you informed ab out the progress of your goods all along.
Product : A lovely plant well packaged and a beautiful addition to our conservatory.
++ Service rating : Always helpful in supplying advice on the maintenance of the garden and providing a good choice of plants.
Product : The plant has been put in a large pot, as instructed, against a sunny wall. It is doing well and very colourful. It has not lost any leaves or failed in any way.
++ Service rating : Plant arrived perfectly packed and in excellent condition
Product : Quality plant which looked exactly like the advertised item.
- Service rating : Informative and professional. High quality products and excellent delivery service
Product : Didn't travel well and is still recovering, all flowers died following delivery but appears to be recovering now
+ Goods arrived in excellent condition.
++ Service rating : arrived on time
Product : arrived in bloom - well packed
- Service rating : These arrived very well packaged and despatched quickly...
Product : I'm not sure if these are going to flower.... On the website it states that these will flower from May through to October... We are nearly at the end of June now and not one flower in sight......
++ Service rating : very good
Product : very good
+ Service rating : Quite a wait for delivery
Product : More than half the flowers had dropped
++ Service rating : Good communication. Item as described, well packaged and delivered when advised.
Product : Am hopeful that it will be a pleasing addition to my garden.
- Service rating : The plant arrived when they said it would but please see below re the condition etc. They did take quite a long time to respond to my complaint but have offered to replace it if it doesn't recover.
Product : Bougainvillea arrived very stressed and had already dropped very many leaves. I took photos and sent them to You Garden, who took a while to reply, but advised me to give it a good drink., which I did. They have offered to replace it if it doesn't recover - it is now looking slightly better but has dropped all its lilac bracts so just has green leaves. At this time of year it should have all its lovely lilac bracts, but this one has lost them I'm watching it closely, but am not too happy with it.
YouGarden Comments
Sorry for the slight delay in getting back to you at our busiest time of year. Let us know how your tree gets on...

Will
Head of Customer Service
+ Service rating : Ordered 3ft (90cm ) bougainvillea standard plants - received 2ft 6'' (77cm) without any flowers left on it. Do not think it will flower again his year .
Product : Not as advertised or expected
++ Service rating : excellent service,plants im good condition
Product : great,healthy plants, arrived promptly
+ Service rating : Plant well packaged and delivery as specified.
Product : Would have liked more specific instructions on care of Bougainvillea as have never had one before.
+ Overall good service and packaging, plus plant healthy
++ Service rating : The order which I placed was dealt with in a thoroughly professional way. The packaging for the plants was substantial enough to withstand the rigours off a Christmas courier delivery service.
Product : The plants arrived in a healthy condition and most importantly undamaged
+ Good advice when I enquirer about a product
NA Service rating : Yes it seems a great improvement from my last years orders . Which were rather disappointing however I am glad I decided to place my orders with you this year and very pleased .
Product : Bougainvillea is beautiful much better than I expected fr the price.
YouGarden Comments
I am glad that we've impressed you this year... Don't forget to tick the ++ box though!

Will
YouGarden
- Service rating : The bougainvillea I ordered was very dry and droopy. I do not know if it will survive.
Product : As above. Also the box all these came in was not strong enough. It was very battered.
YouGarden Comments
Sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your plant. Can you send us a photo please? It is normal for the bracts to be dropping at this time of year.

Will
YouGarden
+ dealt with via the internet and upon dispatched was giving the courier details and a link the follow the parcel. A problem occurred with the courier and the items within the delivery box. Upon contacting the seller and problem solved by (Robyn I believe) would I use again.......YES they sorted a problem straight away and not their fault...for this I would use again and recommend to others.
++ Service rating : Just as I expected
Product : As stated in Garden News
What Is Supplied Supplied as a standard griown plant, 90cm tall, clear stem of 40cm, with a well formed head. In colour as supplied May to Oct Images of actual plants in June as supplied..
Planting & Blooming Calendar
  • April
  • May
  • June
  • July
  • May
  • June
  • July
  • August
  • September
  • October

Best Time To Plant

When Your Plant Will Bloom

Fully Grown Plant dimensions (approx)
Plant Dimensions
150cm
100cm
Also Bought
We Recommend
prev next
Advanced Mail Order
Verifone
Back To Top